Announcing the formation of a research network of international cyberpunk scholars.

After the success of the CyberPunk Culture Conference 2020, the community of scholars that gathered online have now formed the Cyberpunk Culture Research Network (CyRN) as a loose organization to engage in research on all aspects of cyberpunk culture.

There is no formal organizational form and, so far, we have inaugurated a Discord server for rapid exchange among interested researchers. On the server we are discussing possible future events and how to organize CyRN. If you would like to be part of this endeavor, please do sign up here.

We will send around email newsletters with events such as author readings, book club discussions, workshops and conferences. Everyone is invited to participate and co-organize. Join the Discord server and be part of CyRN.

Book Club

Our first event has been set. We are inaugurating a cyberpunk book club, which will “meet” online for a discussion of a primary text every 2-3 months. The first book we will be reading is Martha Wells’ The Murderbot Diaries: All Systems Red. We will convene on Friday Oct 16, 2020 at 18.00 h or 6 pm Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), which means 20.00 h in Central European Time, 2 pm Eastern Standard Time and 11 am Pacific Standard Time.

Book Club

First book: Martha Wells’ – The Murderbot Diaries: All Systems Red

Date: October 16, 2020

Times: 6 pm UTC / 8 pm CET / 2 pm EST / 11 am PST